Impacts of the RCEP on ASEAN and ASEAN Least Developed Countries in the Post-pandemic Recovery


The Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP) is the largest regional free trade agreement (FTA) in the world, comprising the 10 members of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) and five regional ASEAN dialogue partner countries with which ASEAN has existing trade deals Australia, the People's Republic of China, Japan, the Republic of Korea, and New Zealand.

There are positive gains from RCEP for all 15 of its member countries. RCEP also has key elements that will be crucial for the post-pandemic recovery and regional transformation of ASEAN countries. 

This policy brief from the Economic Research Institute for ASEAN and East Asia highlights the impact of RCEP on ASEAN and its least developed countries in their post-pandemic recovery.


  • RCEP and Post-Pandemic Recovery 
  • Importance of ASEAN centrality in RCEP and the post-pandemic transformation
  • Policy Recommendations: Positive Impacts of RCEP on East Asia and ASEAN LDCs
  • References

Published July 2021
Source: Economic Research Institute for ASEAN and East Asia.

Download (492 KB)